Tax Assessor

Our Tax Assessor's office is located upstairs at the Town Office.
Email the Tax Assessor at or call (207) 863-2168
General Information
Tax Year
July 1 to June 30
Assessment Date
April 1

Commitment Date
August 24, 2023
2023 Tax Due Dates
First tax payment due November 1, 2023 (no interest until November 2, 2023)
Second tax Payment due May 1, 2024 (no interest until May 2, 2024)
Tax Rate
$12.30 per thousand of assessed value

Appeals Deadline
February 26, 2024
Property Tax Stabilization Program
The LD290 Property Tax Stabilization for Senior Citizens program, enacted in August 2022, was repealed by the Maine Legislature on July 6, 2023, with an effective date of October 11, 2023.  The repeal of this program means there will be no reapplication process and no need to follow-up with the Assessor.  Although the program has been repealed, initial applications will still be administered this year for the upcoming Tax Commitment in August 2023.  As a result, eligible Vinalhaven applicants will only be responsible for the "frozen" property tax bill amount for the 2023 billing cycle - this amount will be equal to the tax amount the owner was billed in 2022, unless their new billed amount would be lower.  To help lower-income seniors avoid higher property taxes, two existing State programs are being expanded: 
  1. The Property Tax Fairness Credit, which currently allows eligible Mainers to take a $1500 credit has increased to $2000.  This program is not administered by the Town of Vinalhaven; to claim the credit, you must file a Maine Tax Return.  For help call 207-624-9784 or visit and search for "tax relief credits programs."
  2. The State Property Tax Deferral Program, a lifeline loan program that covers the annual property tax bills for Maine seniors 65 and older who cannot afford to pay them on their own, has been expanded.  The doubles the income limit and raises asset limits.  Taxes must be paid back when the home is sold or becomes part of an estate.  This program is not administered by the Town of Vinalhaven; to claim the credit, you must file a Maine Tax Return.  For help call 207-624-5600 or visit and search for "tax relief credits programs."
Maine Homestead Exemption Program
In its 2019 session, the Maine legislature revised the amount of the exemption to $25,000 of value as of April 1, 2021.  If you have already applied for this program you do not need to apply again on the same property.  It is important to note that if you have recently moved or sold your property, you must reapply for the exemption on your new home.
To qualify, you must apply and certify that:
  1. You are a permanent resident of the State of Maine
  2. Your Vinalhaven home is your primary residence and you are not claiming or receiving a homestead property tax exemption for any other property
  3. You have owned a homestead in Maine for the past 12 months
Applications must be received in the Assessor's Office by April 1 in the year that the exemption is first granted.  Applications received after April 1 will not become effective until the following year.

If you are currently receiving a tax reduction (blind, veteran, or homestead exemption) on your property it is notated on the front side of your tax bill.  If you wish to apply for these programs, application forms are available for you to download and print here.  For more information about this program, please click here.  
Assessment Appeal Information
2023 (FY24) Appeal Deadline Date
February 26, 2024 – By law, this date is 185 days from the tax roll commitment.
How Do I Appeal My Assessed Value If I Disagree With The Assessor?
According to Maine Taxation law, your property's assessed value is considered reasonable if it falls within 10% of its most probable selling price.  The burden to prove the assessed value is unreasonable rests with the taxpayer.  It is important to note that an appeal of the valuation can only be on the total valuation amount.  Appeals of just the land portion or building portion are not permitted by law.
The appeal process is a multi-step process beginning with a formal appeal directly to the Assessor's Office.
  1. File an abatement application with Assessor's Office:  This application must be filed within 185 days after the Commitment Date.  The Assessor has 60 days from receipt of your application to respond. (If no response is received within this 60-day period, the appeal is 'deemed denied'). If the appeal is denied, then:  
  2. Appeal the Assessor’s Office decision to the Board of Assessment Review: The application to appeal must be filed with Knox County's Board of Assessment Review within 60 days of the Assessor’s denial.  You will be scheduled for a Board hearing following receipt of your application.  You can review the county board's procedures here.  
  3. Appeal the Board’s decision: Appeals must be filed within 30 days, or if a commercial property assessed over $1 million, within 60 days to the Maine State Board of Property Tax Review.
Property Tax Bulletin No. 10 from Maine Revenue Services outlines the Property Tax Abatement and Appeals Procedures.  They also provide a Basic Residential Appeal Procedure Chart.